Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Happy Tuesday! It's that time again...Dr Retirement is here. What's up for you this week you'd like to chat about?
13 Replies
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Last week we touched on the challenges of making new friends in adulthood. How interesting that on Thursday, I received an email from Meetup.com with just that topic as their subject line. I organize Meetups for my storytelling association, it's a great way to meet new people and strike up friendships.
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
I'm not going to post too much from the article, but I will share the link at the end for you to read it all. The first thing the author, James Quigley, shares is: Reach out and reconnect with old friends
1
Reply
🐢
Turtle
12 Oct
I have MS and was a nurse for 30 yrs. my name is Franki
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Welcome to today's session, Franki!
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
#2. Get involved with a cause you care about "One of the best ways to meet new people who you’re likely to get along with is by pursuing a cause that speaks to your heart."
1
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
#3. Take up a new artistic hobby "The great thing about connecting with people through a mutual interest in art is that the opportunities are pretty much endless. Whether it’s drawing, painting, photography, writing, pottery, or something else that inspires you, getting creative is a wholesome way to get social. "
1
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
#4. Join a professional organization "On average, people spend a third of their lives at work, so it’s not a bad idea to consider branching out your social circle among coworkers and other folks in your industry." Of course, this assumes you are still working.
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
#5. Get active and join an exercise group "Let the endorphins flow! Getting outside of your comfort zone by working up a sweat in a group setting is a wonderful way to make friends while taking care of your body."
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
#6. Join a group for socializing "Sometimes it’s nice to just cut to the chase. You want to meet some new people, chat, get to know each other, and make friends." The article suggests "happy hour groups" or "speed-friending" events.
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
And lastly, #7. Be your own friend first "Listening to your own wants and needs is key before putting yourself out there. In general, it’s not a good idea to spend your time doing activities that don’t interest you just because you want to make friends. Instead, find an activity you’re passionate about and pursue it as often as you can—you’re bound to meet like-minded people along the way and friendship will follow!" https://www.meetup.com/blog/tips-for-making-friends-as-an-adult-during-lonely-times
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Another website that's helpful in finding new potential friends, connecting with others on various topics, and just living a rich life is Secure Senior Connections. https://app.secureseniorconnections.com
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Every week you will receive an email with things going on in the coming days. Here's what was/is available this week: Finding Our Way Through Grief Mon, Oct. 11 | 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT Making New Friends Mon, Oct. 11 | 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT New Member Welcome Tues, Oct. 12 | 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT All Member Open Zoom Room Tues, Oct. 12 | 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Grab your beverage of choice, and kick off the evening by shooting the breeze with old and new friends. No agenda, just a chance to talk and catch up.) Community Coffee Wed, Oct. 13 | 9:30 a.m. ET / 6:30 a.m. PT Member Mixer Thu, Oct. 14 | 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT Open Zoom Room for Writers Thu, Oct. 14 | 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT October Birthday Party Fri, Oct. 15 | 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT LGBTQ+ Community Connections Fri, Oct. 15 | 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT and my fave: Classic Hollywood Films Sat, Oct. 16 | 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Step One: watch Arsenic and Old Lace, the iconic Cary Grant film, directed by Frank Capra. Then join the chat with Community Ambassador Ron Susek about this hilarious 1944 dark comedy.)
Reply
Steven "Shags" Shagrin
AuthorMentor
12 Oct
Secure Senior Connections is an offer I got from my health insurance company, but I believe it's open to all. That's all this week, as we're out of time. If you would like to chat privately about what's up for you and how I might be of service, make a no cost or obligation appointment for a Get Acquainted session: https://calendly.com/dr_retirement/get-acquainted
Reply
Want to see more replies?
Wisdo is a mentoring community that cares. Sign in to connect to peers and mentors who will urge you on!